Excuses….Excuses

The New Year often brings resolutions to get into better shape.

I work in the fitness industry on a part time basis.  And right now we’re heading into the busiest time of the year.  Why!? People making New Year’s Resolutions to get into better shape or to lose weight. It’s great that they have made a commitment to doing so.  It might look like I made this commitment because I just started my blog in the new year.  However, I’ve been working on getting in better shape for a little while.  I’m writing my blog to keep me motivated, and to get the word out there.  While the goal of my blog is to keep my butt in gear, I’m looking to perhaps motivate other people.

So let’s get on with today’s blog…

Despite our best intentions, statistics show that of all people starting a fitness program, one in four quit after only one week and another 25 per cent quit within six months. *gasp*

Of those who join a health club, 80 per cent or more fail to go consistently within two months.

From working in a gym on and off for the last 9 years, here are some of the common excuses I hear for not sticking to a workout routine.

1)     I am too tired and stressed out to exercise! Did you know that stress and fatigue go hand in hand with inactivity?

2)     I’m too old to start working out- You are never too old to start working out, and you’re never too young either!

3)     I don’t need to lose weight, so why exercise.  It’s not about losing weight.  It’s about becoming healthy and staying healthy. By the way…you can be a skinny fat person.  I rather be a little bigger and fit. Weight is not a true indictator of health, and shouldn’t influence your decision to get moving. Being fit is a lifestyle choice, and it should be done for the purpose of improving your life.

4)     I don’t have enough time.  This is the most common excuse given.  I want you to stop and think about something.  You make time for other things, like watching your favourite TV program, or going out with friends.  You’re telling me that you can’t make time to fit in even 30 minutes of exercise!?!?  Get out and go for a walk on your lunch break. Simple strength exercises like pull-ups, pushups, lunges, squats or crunches can be done in minutes. And if all else fails, set your alarm clock so that you can get up a bit earlier to exercise.

5)     I’ve been coming to the gym for 3 weeks and I’m not seeing results….Just because you can’t see it, doesn’t mean things aren’t happening with your body.  Changes are on the way.  But you have to be patient.

This is not rocket science!!!  Get out and get moving, and stop with the excuses.

 

About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on January 8, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Lifestyle, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love the whole DON’T SING IT….DON’T BRING IT

    I look forward to following your blog.

  2. Excellent read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! 85979

Leave a Reply

