Sticks and Stones

I’ve never been one to let the words of others stand in my way of anything. However, I have been silly enough to let the words of others hurt. What can I say!? I’m not bulletproof! I am getting better at not letting the words of others get to me. If someone has something to say, and it’s negative and you let it get to you, then you allow them to hold power over you! Why let them defeat you!?

Not so long ago I was teaching a class at an old club. I ran into a few members that I hadn’t seen in a while. Great big hugs and hello’s were exchanged. And within a few seconds things became awkward. A member who hadn’t seen me in a while pointed out that I had “filled out in all the wrong places”. What do you say to that!? Since I handle most awkward moments with laughter, I chuckled at his comment. I told him that it was nice to have my boobs back, and politely excused myself. Not the best way to handle it, but it got everyone laughing. And the awkwardness was gone. His words did hurt, but then I turned them into motivation. When I want to cut my cardio sessions short, I picture him. I’m not going to live the rest of my life by his cruel words, but for now I will use them to push through.

Funny thing….even at my thinnest and fittest you wouldn’t believe what some people would say…to my face. I once had a lady come up to me and say….”it’s nice to see a girl like you teaching”. LOL I kid you not! I could never make something like that up. I was quite proud of myself, I didn’t put her into a head lock. I froze for a moment, and smiled like a fool. What did that have to do with anything!? I may have not been a size 4 at the time, but I could out spin the fittest of the fit. She didn’t stop me from doing what I loved. She only gave me motivation.

Sometimes people say things, without realizing that they are offending someone. And then there are some people, that do it on purpose. Regardless, we must pick our battles.

So what am I trying to get at!?! When you are trying to get somewhere or accomplish something, and someone tries to knock you down…. Remember that you need to hold your head up high, focus, move forward, don’t second guess, and never look back.

Oh boy, I might have poured on too much cheese tonight. ha ha…on that note…I must get to bed. I start training with my new trainer tomorrow. YES…a trainer training a trainer! Sometimes I need a good kick in the pants, mind you I’m sure there are others that would do it for free. 🙂

About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on January 10, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Lifestyle, Motivation, Success, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That’s the spirit. Picking oneself up and keep moving. 🙂

    Have a great and fit New Year!

  2. Right on sister! Some people just can’t seem to open their mouths without inserting their feet ;o) xox

Leave a Reply

