Quit putting it off…..

Here is a question for you, are you a procrastinator? If you are, you’re not alone. Most adults procrastinate; I know that I can be bad at getting certain tasks done. There are a lot of reasons that we put things off. So with that being said, how can we break the cycle of procrastination, and how does it relate to our fitness goals?

Let’s try with the WHY:

*Maybe it’s too hard or too difficult: Sometimes if things are too difficult we will convince ourselves that we shouldn’t do something, or that we should look for an easier way.

*Lack of knowledge: Sometimes we put things off, because we don’t have the knowledge or the skills to complete them. And that causes us to back off.

* It takes too long: When we set a fitness goal, we can’t expect things to happen overnight. And sometimes it can cause us to give up. Our fitness goals are like a journey; sometimes we will hit a bump in the road. When we do, we have to remember to stay the course. The results will come, and those results will makes us forget about the bumps. By the way, if your workouts are too long cut them in half. If you can’t do a full 30 minutes, start off with a smaller goal. Start off with 10-20 minutes of exercise, and work your way up to 30 minutes.

* Being afraid of failing: Fear of failure is something we all face or struggle with at some point. I’m not going to sugar coat it, having a fitness goal can be scary. It can seem intimidating. You can’t be successful, if you don’t embrace your fears. Remember, “A mind focused on doubt and fear cannot focus on the journey to victory.” – Mike Jones
So what can you do to get moving and quit stalling?

Try:

*Making a list- It will help you stay on task.
*Find out your why!! If you understand the why of what you are doing, then you will believe in your actions
*Just get started! Don’t keep putting it off, just get out and do it. And be confident, it will get easier and easier.
*Decide to change! What you need to do is commit yourself to change.

About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Life, Lifestyle, Motivation, Success, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

