Dear Elliptical Users…

I don’t mind doing cardio, however I don’t love it. When I’m on the elliptical, I’m wishing that I am anywhere but there. To pass time, I crank the tunes and people watch. Does that sound creepy!?

Moving forward….

Dear Elliptical Users,

It has been brought to my attention that you might be doing a few things wrong. Before you run me out of the gym, hear me out.

Your resistance is zero.
You might feel really awesome spinning fast without resistance, however you aren’t going to see results! You need to have enough resistance to push and pull through your stride. Continue at a moderate pace until you feel like you’ve done all you can do. Remember, you are only cheating yourself with no resistance.

You don’t work your upper half
Move the handles, and work your upper body.

Quit slouching!!!
You need to stand up straight, don’t lean on the machine and hang on for dear life. When you stand up straight, you will help lengthen your abs. And it will allow you to engage your core, and work more of your upper body.

You are doing the same thing over, and over and over again!
Please, for the sake of your body….change it up! Try some intervals!

You never change direction!
Going backwards will stop you from getting bored! AND it switches things up for the larger muscles that do the hardest work. What happens when you move forward? You work your quads! What happens when you move backwards? You put emphasis on your hamstrings and glutes.

The gym has more than just ellipticals
It doesn’t hurt to try something new! Change it up, it will do your body some good!

Sincerely,

The girl who wishes it wasn’t cardio day!

About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on January 26, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Life, Lifestyle, Motivation, Success, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Form is key, it’s so true.

  2. I love watching people at the gym.. Find it passes the time better than anything!

    Cheers

  3. People watching is the best when at the gum. I don’t think it’s creepy. šŸ™‚

  4. Too cute! That made me smile. I wish the people at my gym could read that.

Leave a Reply

