Behave Yourself! It’s Time to Talk Gym Etiquette

Currently, I workout out at a small gym and I love it. Once a upon a time I did belong to a big gym, and to be honest I hated it!! Sure it had some of the best equipment, but it was missing something….atmosphere and people that have gym etiquette.

I have worked at and worked out in a number of facilities over the years, so it’s safe to say that I have seen it all. Should I really have to write about gym etiquette!? No, but I’m going too.

Please do not leave a trace!
Congratulations, you can press 700 pounds on the leg press machine. Now can you please put your weights away? Maybe I look stronger than I am, however I shouldn’t have to clean up after you…no one should! Next time I’m calling your mom!

Hey cardio queen, quit hogging the machine!
Some gyms have time limits on cardio machines during busy hours. There’s a reason for that, and you should obey it. And no, throwing your towel over the display won’t fool anyone. P.S You can’t reserve a machine by leaving your water bottle on it. That will definitely give you a time out!

Keep it down!
I’m sure you have seen that guy or girl, the one doing their cardio who is screaming into a cell phone. Unless it’s an emergency, save it!! And if it’s an emergency, stop what you’re doing!! OHHHHH…..and before I forget…there is no reason to moan and groan like an animal in heat. It does nothing for your workout, it just makes you look silly! And it annoys others around you.

Share
If you’re doing multiple sets on a machine, it’s common courtesy to let others work in during your rest periods. This may not always be practical, but offer to share whenever you can.

Clean up After Yourself
Do you know what drives me nuts!?! When someone walks away from a machine, leaving a pool of sweat behind. YAY!!! Just what I wanted!! Most gyms do provide spray bottles or wipes….us them!!! Nobody wants to sit in your sweat!

On a completely different note, I wanted to leave you with a quote…..”The only way of finding the limits of the possible is by going beyond them into the impossible.” Arthur C. Clarke

About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on January 31, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Life, Lifestyle, Motivation, Success, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Cardio Queen hogging the machine – AMEN TO THAT! I could Never get any cardio done cause some women think its fit and healthy to keep at it for 1:30 hrs … ugh… or when they want to catch up on gossip / recipes / soaps and forget its a fitness center not a get together

  1. Pingback: The Ten Commandments of the Public Gym « GodGuysandGirls

Leave a Reply

