Treadmill vs. Outside Walking

Which one is better for you? Which is YOUR best option!?

Walking Outside:

Walking outside will challenge your balance and stability. You will also have more obstacles while walking outside. While walking outside you start and stop (A challenge to the muscles to come to a stop and to start from zero.), walk up and down curbs, sometimes you come across stairs, sidewalks are sometimes sloped, natural inclines and declines, etc…

Treadmill:
Treadmills only go uphill, very few models have downhill incline. And the downhill incline is really nothing special. Going downhill challenges muscles in a completely different way. On the treadmill, the tread is moving and you may not be giving yourself a good push off with your back foot. If you are using the treadmill, with no incline you will burn fewer calories than you would if you were outside. So what you will need to do is add in an incline. What you don’t want to do is hold onto the handrails. There are a few reasons as to why you want to avoid holding to the handrails. You will reduce the calorie burn, and throw your walking posture off. If you decide to walk on the treadmill, train yourself to walk a speed you can sustain without holding onto to the machine.

Don’t write the treadmill off just yet. IIt does have its benefits.

Like..

*It’s a great way to burn calories and give basic training to your walking muscles and practice your walking form.

*Workout Programs are available, giving you a controlled challenge

*The treadmill also has readouts for calories burned, heart rate, etc..

*You can go a little faster on a treadmill, which means that you can burn more calories.

*Safety: If you don’t have access to a safe walking route, a treadmill is a good substitute.

*Weather: You can usually control the indoors weather, but never the outdoors weather.

Which one do you prefer?

My advice!? Just get moving!!!!!

About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on February 9, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Life, Lifestyle, Motivation, Success, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I prefer outside walking. I like the feeling of filling my lungs with fresh air and welcome the distraction of having activity around me.

  2. I think it is also worthwhile to note that on a treadmill you are actually pushing very little force forwards. The treadmill helps pull your foot back rather than walking on solid ground where you have to push yourself forward.

    same point can be made about stair climbers. The climber helps bring your foot down rather than you pushing yourself upwards.

    Neither require you to actually move your body through space.

    This difference in the mechanics can make a huge difference on how your muscles develop and adapt

Leave a Reply

