Buzz Off Scale

Everytime I walk by the scale at the gym, I am tempted to step on it. Here’s the thing….I got into a fight with the scale the last time. I know, that sounds silly! I went to weigh myself one day; I was feeling great, my clothing was feeling loose on me, a co-worker mentioned that I was looking slimmer. I stepped on the scale, and I went from feeling great to feeling HORRIBLE! So I haven’t stepped on the scale since. I have taken my measurements, and they are down. So does it matter that my weight went up? No!

Dear scale…..BUZZ OFF!

Some experts will tell you that it’s important to weight yourself 3-4 times a week, maybe even daily. (I think weighing yourself daily is too extreme!!) Here is why you need to cut back on the weigh-in’s.

Your weight will fluctuate: Your weight changes constantly; fluctuations in that number on the scale every day, or even in the same day, are normal. Then you’ll start to stress about your changing weight. It’s not worth it!!!

You’re probably gaining muscle: When you exercise, you’re building metabolism-boosting muscle, which means that while you’re burning fat you may also be surprisingly heavier on the scale. Focus on that number, and you can demotivate yourself!

For me…it’s about the inches and how great I feel. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!

Weight doesn’t tell the whole story: Even when calculated to your BMI score, your weight doesn’t tell you everything. Body fat percentage is more accurate than BMI since it calculates how much of your body is fat compared to muscle. But don’t just rely on the scales that calculate body fat, they can be wrong!

About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on February 25, 2012, in Fitness, Health, Life, Lifestyle, Motivation, Nutrition, Success, Uncategorized, Weight Loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. love it! lol I dealth with the same thing. i didnt weigh myself for like a month! everytime i see a scale i wanna know what i weight but the numbers dont always matter. the inches lost and how you look and feel!

  2. Scales have been my nemesis on more than one occasion! For me its about how you feel and the inches lost – scales are just way too unreliable!

  1. Pingback: Measure Up & Weigh In | Fitness Knows No Limits | Neither Should You

Leave a Reply

