Quinoa Barley Salad

When a salad is done right, it can be very filling!  So no more excuses, “salads don’t make me feel full”. I’m calling your bluff!

Give this salad a try: Quinoa Barley Salad

Mmmmmm…..enjoy!

Bulgur:

 ½ cup water, stock, or vegetable juice 
 ¼ cup bulgur
 
 Barley:
 11/3 cups water, stock, or vegetable juice        
 1/3 cup barley
 
Quinoa:
1/3 cup quinoa
2/3 cup water, stock, or vegetable juice
 
Dressing:
1 small red onion, diced           
1 tablespoon finely snipped chives        
1 tablespoon thyme leaves       
1 cup olive oil  
½ cup dried cherries
½ cup sherry vinegar
¼ cup savory leaves
 
Salt and pepper
 
To prepare the bulgur, bring the water to a boil, and add the bulgur. Let stand until all the water is absorbed, about 20 to 30 minutes.
 
To prepare the barley, bring the water to a boil, and add the barley. Cook the barley until tender, about 15 minutes.
 
To prepare the quinoa, rinse it under cold, running water, and drain. Combine the quinoa and water in a medium saucepan, and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low. Cook until the liquid is absorbed and the quinoa is transparent, about 8 minutes.
 
To prepare the dressing, combine the onion, chives, thyme, oil, cherries, vinegar, savory, and a little salt and pepper.

Combine the bulgur, barley, and quinoa, and toss with the dressing.

 This should feed up to 4 people!
About MoMonzie

So about me....where to start!?! I'm 32 years old and I work in radio. I am also a certified personal trainer and spin instructor. I fight for what I believe in, will do anything to help someone in need, I believe in paying it forward, I love to make others laugh while laughing at myself, and I just want to be inspired and inspire others. Is that good enough for now!? Don't be afraid to leave me a comment or two along my journey to becoming healthier. I'm going to need the support from time to time. Especially when I'm sore and in need of a nap! lol Catch me from 10am to 2pm on the Greatest Hits of All Time 104.3 CKWS FM (ckwsfm.com) And every Friday on Live@5, for the Dirt (ckws.com)

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

